Judicial Merit Selection Commission

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman
Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Vice-Chairman
Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb
Sen. Scott Talley
Rep. J. Todd Rutherford
Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr.
Hope Blackley
Lucy Grey McIver
Andrew N. Safran
J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Kate Crater, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

MEDIA RELEASE

March 7, 2024

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission is accepting applications for the judicial office listed below:

A vacancy will exist in the office held by the Honorable John W. Kittredge, Justice of the Supreme Court, Seat 3, upon his ascendance to the position of Chief Justice of the Supreme Court on August 1, 2024. The successor will serve the remainder of the unexpired term, which expires July 31, 2028.

In order to receive application materials, a prospective candidate must notify the Commission in writing of his or her intent to apply. Note that an email will suffice for written notification. Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows:

Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel
Post Office Box 142
Columbia, South Carolina 29202
ErinCrawford@scsenate.gov or (803) 212-6689